Board Members


The Greeneville Board of Education is made up of five elected members. Each member serves a four-year staggered term. Elections are held in August during even-numbered years. New Board of Education members are seated on September 1 of each election year.

Regular monthly board meetings are held on the fourth Tuesday at 5 p.m. and joint Board meetings are held in January, April, June, and October on the fourth Thursday at 6 p.m. All regular meetings are located in the Professional Development Center at the Greeneville City Schools Central Office in downtown Greeneville. During the quarterly joint meetings, both the joint and regular board meeting are held at the Greene Technology Center. 

To address the board concerning an issue not included on the board's regular monthly agenda, you must submit a written request with supporting documents to the Director of Schools office at least ten business days prior to the scheduled board meeting. At the discretion of the Director of Schools and the Board of Education Chairman, your concern will be placed on the agenda or addressed privately at an appointed time. There shall be a pubic comment period for each meeting with actionable items on the agenda, with the exception of teacher disciplinary hearings. Comments shall be limited to topics listed on the agenda. If an individual wishes to address the Board, they shall contact the Director of Schools' office the preceding day before the scheduled meeting to request time to speak or sign up on the form provided before the beginning of the board meeting to request time to speak. Board of Education Meetings are open to the public and all are encouraged to attend.

The Board hosts a legislators' breakfast in January, a budget workshop in April, and a visioning/goals workshop in October of every year. 

Members of the Greeneville City Board of Education are: 

  • Cindy Luttrell - Chairperson
  • Dr. Craig Shepherd - Vice Chairperson
  • Josh Quillen - Treasurer 
  • Pamela Botta
  • Crystal Hirschy
  • Hank Hope - Student Representative